

SPECIAL MASS TRANSIT DEPARTMENT BOARD MINUTES CITY COUNCIL CHAMBERS August 16, 2022

A special meeting of the Mass Transit Department Board was called to order at 10:08 a.m. Board Chair Oscar Leeser present and presiding and the following Board Members answered roll call: Alexsandra Annello, Cassandra Hernandez, Joe Molinar, Isabel Salcido, Claudia Rodriguez, Henry Rivera and Cissy Lizarraga. Board Member Peter Svarzbein was excused.

.....

CALL TO THE PUBLIC - PUBLIC COMMENT

This time is reserved for members of the public who would like to address the Mass Transit Department Board on items that are not on the Mass Transit Department Board Agenda.

The following members of the public commented:

- 1. Francisca Grajeda
- 2. Josue Rodriguez
- 3. Marc Salazar
- 4. Ruben Fernandez
- 5. Ruben Montoya
- 6. Guadalupe Azar

.....

CONSENT AGENDA

Motion made by Board Member Rivera, seconded by Board Member Salcido, and unanimously carried to **APPROVE** all matters listed under the Consent Agenda unless otherwise noted. (Items approved, postponed, or deleted pursuant to the vote on the Consent Agenda will be shown with an asterisk (*).)

AYES: Board Members Annello, Hernandez, Molinar, Salcido, Rodriguez, Rivera

and Lizarraga, and Board Chair Leeser

NAYS: None

ABSENT: Board Member Svarzbein

.....

CONSENT AGENDA - APPROVAL OF MINUTES

Goal 6: Set the Standard for Sound Governance and Fiscal Management

1. *Motion made, seconded and unanimously carried to **APPROVE** the minutes of the Mass Transit Board Meeting of August 2, 2022.

.....

CONSENT AGENDA - REQUEST TO EXCUSE ABSENT MASS TRANSIT BOARD MEMBERS

2. *Motion made, seconded and unanimously carried to **EXCUSE** Board Member Peter Svarzbein from the August 16, 2022 Special Mass Transit Board Meeting.

REGULAR AGENDA

Goal 7: Enhance and Sustain El Paso's Infrastructure Network

3. Public Hearing on the Proposed Budget for the Mass Transit Department of the City of El Paso (Sun Metro), filed by the City Manager with the City Clerk on July 14, 2022, which begins on September 1, 2022 and ends on August 31, 2023.

Board Members Annello, Hernandez, and Molinar commented.

The following City staff members commented:

- 1. Ms. Ellen Smyth, Chief Transit and Field Operations Officer
- 2. Mr. Robert Cortinas, Chief Financial Officer

The public hearing was opened at 10:34 a.m.

The following members of the public commented:

- 1. Ruben Montoya
- 2. Benjamin Leyva
- 3. Marc Salazar
- 4. Ruben Fernandez
- 5. Francisca Grajeda
- 6. Josue Rodriguez

Motion made by Board Member Lizarraga, seconded by Board Member Salcido, and carried to **CLOSE** the public hearing at 11:05 a.m. and **POSTPONE** the final vote on the budget until August 23, 2022.

AYES: Board Members Annello, Hernandez, Salcido, Rodriguez, Rivera,

Lizarraga, and Board Chair Leeser

NAYS: Board Member Molinar

ABSENT: Board Member Svarzbein

.....

ADJOURN

Motion made by Board Member Rivera, seconded by Board Member Molinar and unanimously carried to **ADJOURN** the meeting at 11:06 a.m.

AYES: Board Members Svarzbein, Annello, Hernandez, Molinar, Salcido,

Rodriguez, Rivera and Lizarraga and Board Chair Leeser

NAYS: None

ABSENT: Board Member Svarzbein

Approved as to content:

Ellen A. Smyth, Chief Field & Transit Operations Officer