OSCAR LEESER Mayor

Tommy Gonzalez City Manager



CITY COUNCIL BRIAN KENNEDY, DISTRICT 1 ALEXSANDRA ANNELLO, DISTRICT 2 CASSANDRA HERNANDEZ, DISTRICT 3 JOE MOLINAR, DISTRICT 4 ISABEL SALCIDO, DISTRICT 5 ART FIERRO, DISTRICT 6 HENRY RIVERA, DISTRICT 7 CHRIS CANALES, DISTRICT 8

SPECIAL CITY COUNCIL MEETING MINUTES January 29, 2024 COUNCIL CHAMBERS, CITY HALL AND VIRTUALLY 10:00 A.M.

The City Council of the City of El Paso met at the above place and date. Meeting was called to order at 10:01 a.m. Mayor Oscar Leeser was present and presiding and the following Council Members answered roll call: Brian Kennedy, Joe Molinar, Isabel Salcido, Art Fierro. Henry Rivera, and Chris Canales. Alexsandra Annello and Cassandra Hernandez requested to be excused.

<u>AGENDA</u>

.....

1.

RESOLUTION CANVASSING RETURNS OF THE JANUARY 20, 2024 CITY SPECIAL RUN-OFF ELECTION FOR DISTRICT REPRESENTATIVE NO. 2

WHEREAS, the City Council of the City of El Paso ordered a special election to be held in said City on December 9, 2023, for the purpose of filling the vacancy in the office of Representative for District No. 2;

WHEREAS, no candidates received greater than fifty percent (50%) of the votes cast; and

WHEREAS, the City Council of the City of El Paso ordered a special run-off election to be held in said City on January 20, 2024, for the purpose of filling the vacancy in the office of Representative for District No. 2; and

WHEREAS, the election officers who held said special run-off election have duly made returns of the results thereof, and said returns have been duly delivered to said City Council.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE CITY COUNCIL OF THE CITY OF EL PASO:

- 1. That the City Council officially finds and determines that said election was duly given, that proper notice of said election was duly given, that proper election officers were duly appointed prior to said election, that said election was duly held, that due returns of the results of said Special Run-off Election have been duly made and delivered, that the election returns have properly been made out and duly certified by the officers of said election in the different voting precincts of the City, and that the City Council has duly canvassed said returns, all in accordance with law and the resolution calling said election.
- 2. That the City Council officially finds and determines that the following votes were cast at said run-off election for the following officer by the residents, qualified electors of said City in said District, who voted at the special run-off election:

DISTRICT REPRESENTATIVE NO. 2

Veronica "Vero" Carbajal <u>1,220</u> Josh Acevedo <u>1,527</u>

3. That in the case of the following office, the following person received more than a 50% majority of the votes cast for candidates for such office and is hereby declared elected to such office for the unexpired term, subject to the proper issuance of certificates of election by the presiding officer, and that the number of votes cast for each person who was a candidate for such office according to the returns, is shown in paragraph 2 hereof:

DISTRICT REPRESENTATIVE NO. 2

Josh Acevedo

- 4. That on file in the City Clerks' Office and made a part hereof by reference are copies of the mechanical precinct tabulations of the votes cast at the January 20, 2024 Special Run-off Election of the December 9, 2023 Special Election to fill the vacancy in the office of Representative for District No. 2, showing the number of votes cast in each precinct for each candidate.
- 5. That this Resolution is adopted subject to the right of any candidate to contest such special run-off election in any way provided by law.
- 6. That this Resolution was acted upon in accordance with the law by the presiding officer and the City Council and was deemed by said City Council that upon passage of the Resolution, it shall take effect immediately.
- 7. This Resolution shall be spread upon the minutes of the City Council.

Motion made by Alternate Mayor Pro Tempore Molinar, seconded by Representative Canales, and unanimously carried to **APPROVE** the Resolution.

AYES: Representatives Kennedy, Molinar, Salcido, Fierro, Rivera, and Canales. NAYS: None ABSENT: Representatives Annello and Hernandez

ADJOURN

Motion made by Representative Rivera, seconded by Representative Molinar, and unanimously carried to **ADJOURN** the meeting at 10:06 a.m.

AYES: Representatives Kennedy, Molinar, Salcido, Fierro, Rivera, and Canales NAYS: None ABSENT: Representatives Annello and Hernandez

APPROVED AS TO CONTENT:

Laura D. Prine, City Clerk