#### OSCAR LEESER Mayor

TOMMY GONZALEZ
CITY MANAGER



# PETER SVARZBEIN, DISTRICT 1 ALEXSANDRA ANNELLO, DISTRICT 2 CASSANDRA HERNANDEZ, DISTRICT 3 JOE MOLINAR, DISTRICT 4

CITY COUNCIL

ISABEL SALCIDO, DISTRICT 5
CLAUDIA L. RODRIGUEZ, DISTRICT 6
HENRY RIVERA, DISTRICT 7
CISSY LIZARRAGA, DISTRICT 8

# CITY COUNCIL URGENT PUBLIC NECESSITY (UPN) MEETING MINUTES August 16, 2021

4:00 PM
Due to the temporary suspension of Open Meetings laws due to the COVID-19 emergency this meeting was conducted via telephonic and videoconference formats.
The City Attorney's Office justified this meeting and item as a matter of urgent public necessity and Council of the City Council met on the above time and date via videoconference. Meeting was called to order at 4:04 p.m. Mayor Oscar Leeser present and presiding and the following Council Members answered roll call: Peter Svarzbein, Alexsandra Annello, Cassandra Hernandez, Joe Molinar, Isabel Salcido, Claudia Rodriguez, Henry Rivera and Cissy Lizarraga.
<u>AGENDA</u>
EXECUTIVE SESSION
Motion made by Representative Molinar, seconded by Representative Rivera, and carried that the City Council retire into <b>EXECUTIVE SESSION</b> at 4:06 p.m. pursuant to Section 3.5A of the El Paso City Charter and the Texas Government Code, Sections 551.071 - 551.089 to discuss the item:
Section 551.071 CONSULTATION WITH ATTORNEY
AYES: Representatives Svarzbein, Annello, Hernandez, Molinar, Salcido, Rodriguez, Rivera, and Lizarraga NAYS: None
Motion made by Representative Rivera, seconded by Representative Hernandez, and unanimously carried to adjourn the Executive Session at 4:32 p.m. and <b>RECONVENE</b> the meeting of the City Council at which time a motion was made.
AYES: Representatives Svarzbein, Annello, Hernandez, Morgan, Salcido, Rodriguez, Rivera, and Lizarraga NAYS: None
EX1. Legal options with regard to Texas Governor Order GA-38 or subsequent Executive Order by the Governor limiting local authority to address health

emergencies. Matter No. 20-1052-1069 (551.071)

Mayor Leeser and Representatives Svarzbein, Hernandez, Molinar, Salcido and Rodriguez commented.

Dr. Hector Ocaranza, Public Health Authority, provided a medical opinion regarding his recommendation for a mask mandate.

Ms. Karla Nieman, City Attorney, provided legal advice.

Motion made by Mayor Pro Tempore Svarzbein, seconded by Representative Hernandez, and unanimously carried to **SUSPEND THE RULES OF ORDER** to allow speakers after the sign up period and to limit comment to one minute.

The following members of the public spoke either in favor or against a mask mandate:

- 1. Ms. Xochil Rodriguez
- 2. Ms. Sabiha Khan
- 3. Mr. Adolfo Telles
- 4. Mr. Raul Peinado
- 5. Ms. Erica Zarate
- 6. Mr. Bobby Wilson
- 7. Speaker wished to remain anonymous
- 8. Ms. Elena King
- 9. Mr. Rogelio Carrasco
- 10. Ms. Lisa Martinez
- 11. Ms. Rhonda Manning
- 12. Ms. Nicole Bombara
- 13. Ms. Amy Bach
- 14. Mr. Angel Ortega
- 15. Mr. Daniel Carroll
- 16. Ms. Ruby Jimenez
- 17. Ms. Ashley Greer
- 18. Mr. Omar Varela
- 19. Mr. Christopher Wiesner
- 20. Ms. Melissa Navarro
- 21. Ms. Yvette Pierce
- 22. Ms. Joanna Ochoterena
- 23. Mr. Scott Brown
- 24. Mr. Daniel Moreno
- 25. Mr. Aaron Torres
- 26. Ms. Rebecca Blair
- 27. Ms. Cynthia Ramirez
- 28. Ms. Monica Chavira
- 29. Ms. Jacqueline Cadence
- 30. Mr. Richard Martinez
- 31. Ms. Irene Armendariz Jackson
- 32. Mr. Ricardo Garcia
- 33. Mr. Emmanuel Villalobos
- 34. Ms. Elisa Morales
- 35. Mr. Ivan Montelongo
- 36. Mr. Juan Rios

- 37. Ms. Naomi Fertman
- 38. Ms. Nancy Esquivel
- 39. Mr. Manuel Gonzalez
- 40. Ms. Elisa Pacheco
- 41. Ms. Nicole Aguirre
- 42. Ms. Luz Luna
- 43. Mr. Kevin Cooper
- 44. Mr. Robert Hernandez
- 45. Ms. Melissa Daly
- 46. Mr. Aaron Canales
- 47. Mr. Brent Miller
- 48. Mr. Nick Garcia
- 49. Ms. Adriana Cadenas
- 50. Ms. Elvia Zamora
- 51. Mr. Caleb Blair
- 52. Ms. Betsy Camargo
- 53. Mr. Fernando Garcia
- 54. Ms. Rebecca Murillo
- 55. Mr. Rhonda Davidson
- 56. Ms. Neysa Hardin
- 57. Mr. Hector Cardona
- 58. Ms. Ruth Medrano
- 59. Mr. John Trujillo
- 60. Ms. Kendall Jessup
- 61. Ms. Valerie Bowers
- 62. Ms. Samantha Estrada
- 63. Mr. Nathaniel Hayden
- 64. Ms. Janet Lucero
- 65. Mr. Phillip Wynn
- 66. Ms. Rosa Morales
- 67. Ms. Marcela Camarena
- 68. Ms. Veronica Frescas
- 69. Ms. Dulce Carlos
- 70. Ms. Roxanne Ramirez

#### 1<sup>ST</sup> MOTION

Motion made by Mayor Pro Tempore Svarzbein, seconded by Representative Annello and carried that the City Attorney's Office be authorized to take any and all legal action against the Governor of the State of Texas regarding Executive Order GA-38, or any subsequent Executive Order, which limits the authority of local officials to effectively handle public health emergencies, to waive indemnification by the Local Health authority as it relates to actions taken related to this motion, and to provide a legal defense for the Local Health Authority in any legal action against him related to action taken by him in reliance on such legal action.

AYES: Representatives Svarzbein, Annello, Hernandez, Rivera, and Lizarraga

NAYS: Representative Molinar

NOT PRESENT FOR THE VOTE: Representatives Salcido and Rodriguez

## 2<sup>ND</sup> MOTION

Motion made by Mayor Pro Tempore Svarzbein, seconded by Representative Rivera, and unanimously carried to **RECONSIDER** the item.

## **3RD AND FINAL MOTION**

Motion made by Representative Annello, seconded by Representative Lizarraga and carried that the City Attorney's Office be authorized to take any and all legal action against the Governor of the State of Texas regarding Executive Order GA-38, or any subsequent Executive Order, which limits the authority of local officials to effectively handle public health emergencies, to waive indemnification by the Local Health authority as it relates to actions taken related to this motion, and to provide a legal defense for the Local Health Authority in any legal action against him related to action taken by him in reliance on such legal action.

AYES: Representatives Svarzbein, Annello, Hernandez, Rivera, and Lizarraga NAYS: Representative Molinar, Salcido, and Rodriguez
<u>ADJOURN</u>
Motion made by Representative Hernandez, seconded by Representative Lizarraga, and unanimously carried to <b>ADJOURN</b> this meeting at 6:32 p.m.
AYES: Representatives Svarzbein, Annello, Hernandez, Morgan, Salcido, Rodriguez Rivera, and Lizarraga NAYS: None
APPROVED AS TO CONTENT:
Laura D. Prine, City Clerk