DEE MARGO Mayor

Tommy Gonzalez City Manager



CITY COUNCIL PETER SVARZBEIN, DISTRICT 1 ALEXSANDRA ANNELLO, DISTRICT 2 CASSANDRA HERNANDEZ DISTRICT 3 SAM MORGAN, DISTRICT 4 ISABEL SALCIDO, DISTRICT 5 CLAUDIA ORDAZ PEREZ, DISTRICT 6 HENRY RIVERA, DISTRICT 7 CISSY LIZARRAGA, DISTRICT 8

SPECIAL CITY COUNCIL MEETING MINUTES MAIN CONFERENCE ROOM JULY 9, 2019

The City Council met at the above place and date. Meeting was called to order at 1:18 p.m. Mayor Dee Margo present and presiding and the following Council Members answered roll call: Alexsandra Annello, Cassandra Hernandez, Sam Morgan, Isabel Salcido, Claudia Ordaz Perez, Henry Rivera, and Cissy Lizarraga. Peter Svarzbein joined the meeting at 1:22 p.m.

AGENDA

1. For discussion and action: FY 2019 – 2020 Budget as presented by the City Manager.

Discussion and action may include, but not limited to operating, capital and debt budgets and all possible funding sources including the possible issuance of debt.

NOTE: Any vision/goal team presentation may also be heard at the next following meeting in the event that the presentation was not completed on the initially scheduled day, as is noted on this posting.

• City Manager Overview

Mr. Tommy Gonzalez, City Manager, introduced the item and briefed Council members as to the next steps and timeline on the budget preparation and added that staff will be ready to answer questions at the end of the presentations.

Representative Hernandez suggested beginning the meeting with public comment.

Mr. Alonzo Varela, citizen, commented.

Mayor Margo stated that he was not in favor of a tax increase and explained that this meeting was only for discussion and that the budget would not be ratified until August.

• Vibrant Regional Economy

- Goal 1 Economic Development (Airport, Bridges, Economic Development, Destination El Paso).
- Goal 3 Visual Image (Planning & Inspections)

Mr. Cary Westin, Deputy City Manager, presented a PowerPoint presentation (copy on file in the City Clerk's Office).

Mayor Margo and Representatives Svarzbein, Annello, Hernandez, Salcido, Ordaz Perez, and Lizarraga commented.

The following City staff members commented and answered questions posed by Council members.

- 1. Ms. Monica Lombraña, Director of Aviation
- 2. Mr. Philip Etiwe, Planning and Inspections Director
- 3. Mr. David Coronado, International Bridges Director
- 4. Mr. Tommy Gonzalez, City Manager
- 5. Mr. Bryan Crowe, Destination El Paso Executive Director
- 6. Mr. Robert Cortinas, Chief Financial Officer
- 7. Ms. Jessica Herrera, Economic and International Development Director
- 8. Ms. Tracey Jerome, Deputy City Manager
 - Exceptional Recreational, Cultural and Educational Opportunities
 - Goal 4 Quality of Life (Library, Museums, Parks, Zoo)

Ms. Tracey Jerome, Deputy City Manager, presented a PowerPoint presentation (copy on file in the City Clerk's Office).

Representatives Svarzbein, Annello, Hernandez, and Rivera commented.

The following City staff members commented and answered questions posed by Council members.

- 1. Ms. Norma Martinez, Libraries Director
- 2. Ms. Nicole Cote, Office of Management and Budget Director
- 3. Mr. Cary Westin, Senior Deputy City Manager
- 4. Mr. Jay Banasiak, Sun Metro Director
- 5. Mr. Tommy Gonzalez, City Manager
- 6. Mr. Joe Montisano, Zoo Director
- 7. Mr. Robert Cortinas, Chief Financial Officer

• Regional Water Park Fees

Ms. Tracey Jerome, Deputy City Manager, presented a PowerPoint presentation (copy on file in the City Clerk's Office).

Representatives Svarzbein, Annello, Hernandez, Salcido, Ordaz Perez, and Rivera commented.

The following City staff members commented and answered questions posed by Council members.

- 1. Mr. Tracy Novak, Parks and Recreation Director
- 2. Mr. Tommy Gonzalez, City Manager
- 3. Mr. Robert Cortinas, Chief Financial Officer
- 4. Mr. Ben Fyffe, Museums and Cultural Affairs Assistant Director
- 5. Ms. Leo Wilson, Zoo Administration Services Manager

6. Mr. Ted Marquez, Deputy City Manager

NO ACTION was taken on this item.

<u>ADJOURN</u>

Motion made by Representative Hernandez, seconded by Representative Annello, and unanimously carried to adjourn this meeting at 5:25 p.m.

AYES: Representatives Svarzbein, Annello, Hernandez, Morgan, Salcido, Ordaz Perez, Rivera, and Lizarraga.

NAYS: None

.....

APPROVED AS TO CONTENT:

Laura D. Prine, City Clerk