CITY OF EL PASO, TEXAS AGENDA ITEM DEPARTMENT HEAD'S SUMMARY FORM

DEPARTMENT: Economic and International Development

AGENDA DATE: CCA Consent 09.12.2023

CONTACT PERSON: Elizabeth Triggs, (915) 212-1619

triggsek@elpasotexas.gov

DISTRICT(S) AFFECTED: 8

SUBJECT:

That the City Council approve the recommendation of the Board of Directors of the El Paso Downtown Management District that the following persons be named directors of the District for the terms indicated:

Nominee Nominee	Term#	Expiration Date
Maxey Scherr	1	August 2026
Manuel Burke	1	August 2026
Joanne Richardson	1*	August 2026
Yolanda Giner	1	August 2026
Kristi Daugherty	1	August 2026
Guillermo Garcia	1	August 2026
Patrick Merrick	1	August 2026

^{*} Indicates candidate was appointed to a partial term and is being nominated for his/her first full term.

BACKGROUND/DISCUSSION:

The Downtown Management District (DMD), Board of Directors met on August 24, 2023 and nominated seven individuals to fill expiring terms on its 21-member Board. As provided in Chapter 375 of the Local Government Code, the Board recommends the above-noted persons and requests that the nominees be considered for approval by the City Council Agenda. All nominees are qualified to serve on the Board in accordance with the qualifications established by Chapter 375 as follows: are at least 18 years old, and are connected within the District as either (1) a resident, (2) owner of property, (3) owner of stock on property, as an individual or in a corporate capacity, (4) owner of a beneficial interest in a trust that owns property, or (5) be an agent, employee or tenant of the owners listed in categories 2, 3 or 4.

PRIOR COUNCIL ACTION:

Downtown Management District (DMD), Board of Directors - Reappointments - September 13, 2022 Downtown Management District (DMD), Board of Directors - Reappointments - September 29, 2020 Downtown Management District (DMD), Board of Directors - Reappointments - October 31, 2017 Downtown Management District (DMD), Board of Directors - Reappointments - October 7, 2014

AMOUNT AND SOURCE OF FUNDING:

N/A

BOARD/COMMISSION ACTION:

N/A

$*****REQUIRED\ AUTHORIZATION ******$

DEPARTMENT HEAD:

Elizabeth Triggs, Director

Economic & International Development

RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, by resolution dated September 3, 1996, the City of El Paso approved of the creation of the El Paso Downtown Management District ("District");

WHEREAS, pursuant to Chapter 375 of the Texas Local Government Code ("Code") the District was legally created by order of the Texas Natural Resources Conservation Commission on March 10, 1997;

WHEREAS, pursuant to Section 375.064(a) of the Code, the Board of Directors of the District ("Board") convened a meeting open to the public on August 27, 2020 for the purpose of recommending a slate of persons to serve as members of the Board; and

WHEREAS, pursuant to Section 375.064(b) of the Code, the City Council is required to approve or disapprove recommendations submitted by the Board.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE CITY COUNCIL OF THE CITY OF EL PASO:

That the City Council approve the recommendation of the Board of Directors of the El Paso Downtown Management District that the following persons be named directors of the District for the terms indicated:

Nominee Nominee	<u>Term #</u>	Expiration Date	
Maxey Scherr	1	August 2026	
Manuel Burke	1	August 2026	
Joanne Richardson	1*	August 2026	
Yolanda Giner	1	August 2026	
Kristi Daugherty	1	August 2026	
Guillermo Garcia	1	August 2026	
Patrick Merrick	1	August 2026	

^{*}Indicates candidate was appointed to a partial term and is being nominated for his/her first full term.

(Signatures begin on the following page)

APPROVED this the	_day of	2023.
		THE CITY OF EL PASO:
		Oscar Leeser Mayor
ATTEST:		
Laura D. Prine City Clerk		
APPROVED AS TO FORM:		APPROVED AS TO CONTENT:
Juan S. Gonzalez Senior Assistant City Attorney		Elizabeth Triggs, Director Economic & International Development

201 E. Main, Ste. 107 El Paso, Texas 79901 915-400-2294 downtownelpaso.com



MEMO

TO: Mr. Cary Westin, Interim City Manager

Ms. Elizabeth Triggs, Economic Development Director

Ms. Karla Nieman, City Attorney

FROM: Joe Gudenrath, Executive Director

El Paso Downtown Management District

DATE: August 25, 2023

SUBJECT: Item for City Council Agenda – DMD Board Member Nominations

At the August 24, 2023 meeting of the Board of Directors for the El Paso Downtown Management District (DMD), the Board nominated seven individuals to fill expiring terms on its 21-member Board.

As provided in Chapter 375 of the Local Government Code, the Board recommends the following persons and requests that this item be placed on the City Council Agenda for consideration and approval, as it has in the past, so that the appointments may be final as soon as possible.

Nominee Nominee	<u>Term#</u>	Expiration Date
Maxey Scherr	1	August 2026
Manuel Burke	1	August 2026
Joanne Richardson	1*	August 2026
Yolanda Giner	1	August 2026
Kristi Daugherty	1	August 2026
Guillermo Garcia	1	August 2026
Patrick Merrick	1	August 2026

^{*} Indicates candidate was appointed to a partial term and is being nominated for his/her first full term.

All nominees are qualified to serve on the Board in accordance with the qualifications established by Chapter 375 as follows: are at least 18 years old, and are connected within the District as either (1) a resident, (2) owner of property, (3) owner of stock on property, as an individual or in a corporate capacity, (4) owner of a beneficial interest in a trust that owns property, or (5) be an agent, employee or tenant of the owners listed in categories 2, 3 or 4.

I am including information for each of the nominated individuals to provide background information for the City Council. Should you have any questions, I can be reached at 915-240-3116 or by email at jgudenrath@elpasodmd.org. Thank you for your consideration.