OSCAR LEESER MAYOR

TOMMY GONZALEZ
CITY MANAGER



CITY COUNCIL

PETER SVARZBEIN, DISTRICT 1
ALEXSANDRA ANNELLO, DISTRICT 2
CASSANDRA HERNANDEZ, DISTRICT 3
JOE MOLINAR, DISTRICT 4
ISABEL SALCIDO, DISTRICT 5
CLAUDIA L. RODRIGUEZ, DISTRICT 6
HENRY RIVERA, DISTRICT 7
CISSY LIZARRAGA, DISTRICT 8

SPECIAL CITY COUNCIL MEETING MINUTES CITY HALL, 300 N. CAMPBELL COUNCIL CHAMBERS AND VIRTUAL April 14, 2022 4:00 PM

The City Council of the City of El Paso met at the above place and date. Meeting was called to order at 4:03 p.m. Mayor Oscar Leeser was present and presiding and the following Council members

answered roll call: Peter Svarzbein, Alexsandra Annello, Joe Molinar, Isabel Salcido, Claudia Rodriguez, and Henry Rivera. Cassandra Hernandez and Cissy Lizarraga participated via videoconference. Ms. Sylvia Carreon, citizen, lead the Pledge of Allegiance to the Flag of the United States of America.

.....

AGENDA

1. Discussion and action on a Resolution adopting a districting plan which establishes new Council representative district boundaries based on the 2020 U.S. Census data, to become effective immediately, and dissolving the Districting Commission, as they have

The following City staff members assisted by making map adjustments and calculating population deviations, as directed by Council during the meeting:

- Ms. Karina Brasgalla, Economic and International Development Assistant Director
- Mr. Mariano Soto, Geographic Information Systems Specialist

completed their duties in the redistricting process per City Charter.

The following members of the public commented:

- 1. Mr. Jesus Valdez
- 2. Ms. Isabel Carrillo
- 3. Ms. Carol Wallace
- 4. Ms. Judy Ackerman
- 5. Ms. Sylvia Carreon
- 6. Mr. Eduardo A. Talamantes
- 7. Ms. Patricia E. White
- 8. Mr. Quirino Villa
- 9. Ms. Carmen E. Rodriguez
- 10. Ms. Rosa Dominguez Morales
- 11. Mr. Brian Kennedy
- 12. Mr. James R. Peinado
- 13. Mr. Craig Peters

Statements submitted by the following members of the public were read into the record:

- 14. Mr. Chris Yost
- 15. Mr. Ben Ivy
- 16. Ms. Elisa Rivera
- 17. Mr. David Escobar
- 18. Mr. Ivan Lopez
- 19. Mr. Phillip Thomas Laign, Jr.
- 20. Ms. Laura Espinoza
- 21. Ms. Patty Aragon
- 22. Mr. Victor Barajas
- 23. Mr. Joe Barbe
- 24. Mr. Brian Lopez
- 25. Ms. Miriam Caballero
- 26. Michelle Moore
- 27. Hector Holguin
- 28. Manuel Vazquez
- 29. Dina Zamarripa
- 30. Karina Guzman
- 31. Ms. Yoli Barba
- 32. Mr. William F. Davitt III
- 33. Ms. Brenda Ness
- 34. Christopher Ness
- 35. Mr. Jose Lopez
- 36. Mr. Craig M. Peters
- 37. Mr. Angelo Pokluda
- 38. Pablo Lopez, South Side Neighborhood Association and Mannys S. Rodriguez, Chihuahuita Neighborhood Association
- 39. Mr. David B. Williams
- 40. Ms. Elizabeth Williams
- 41. Mr. Marco Covarrubias
- 42. Ms. Gabriela Gallegos

Mayor Leeser and Representatives Svarzbein, Annello, Hernandez, Molinar, Salcido, Rodriguez, Rivera, and Lizarraga commented.

Representative Svarzbein requested that Council review Map 8A, as revised by City Council on Monday, April 11, 2023.

1ST MOTION

Motion made by Representative Annello, seconded by Representative Rodriguez, and carried to **AMEND** map 8A to **MOVE** precinct 59 to District 4.

AYES: Representatives Svarzbein, Annello, Molinar, Salcido, Rodriguez, Rivera, and Lizarraga NAYS: Representative Hernandez

2ND MOTION

Motion made by Representative Annello, seconded by Representative Rodriguez, and carried to **AMEND** map 8A as follows:

- **Move** precincts 87, 88, 89, 90, 91, 92, 67, 69, 70, 71, 72, 73, 74, 75, 76, 78, 188, and 77 to District 2
- **Move** precincts 93, 94, 95, 96, 97, 98, 99, 100, 101, 102, 103, 105, 106, 107 and 175 to District 3
- Move precincts 79, 80, 42, 41, and 39 to District 8

AYES: Representatives Svarzbein, Annello, Molinar, Rodriguez, and Rivera

NAYS: Representatives Hernandez and Lizarraga

NOT PRESENT FOR THE VOTE: Representative Salcido

The Special Meeting was **RECESSED** at 7:14 p.m. and **RECONVENED** at 7:26 p.m.

3RD MOTION

Motion made by Representative Annello, seconded by Representative Rodriguez, and carried to **AMEND** map 8B as follows:

.....

- Move precincts 79 and 80 east of Patriot Freeway to District 3
- Move precinct 103 to District 7

AYES: Representatives Svarzbein, Annello, Salcido, Rodriguez, Rivera, and Lizarraga

NAYS: Representatives Hernandez and Molinar

4TH MOTION

Motion made by Mayor Pro Tempore Svarzbein, seconded by Representative Hernandez, and carried to **KEEP** Map 8 as one of the final maps for consideration.

AYES: Representatives Svarzbein, Hernandez, Salcido, and Lizarraga

NAYS: Representatives Annello, Molinar, Rodriguez, and Rivera

Mayor Leeser broke the tie by voting "aye". The motion PASSED.

5TH AND FINAL MOTION

Motion made by Representative Annello, seconded by Representative Rodriguez and carried to **REMOVE** maps 7, 7A and 8A from consideration and **KEEP** maps 7B, 8, and 8B for consideration on April 26, 2022.

AYES: Representatives Svarzbein, Annello, Molinar, Salcido, Rodriguez, Rivera, and Lizarraga

NAYS: Representative Hernandez

ADJOURN

Motion made by Representative Annello, seconded by Representative Svarzbein and unanimously carried to **ADJOURN** the Special meeting at 7:52 p.m.

.....

AYES: Representatives Svarzbein, Annello, Hernandez, Molinar, Salcido, Rodriguez, Rivera, and

Lizarraga NAYS: None

.....

APPROVED AS TO CONTENT:		
	-	
Laura D. Prine, City Clerk		