CITY OF EL PASO, TEXAS AGENDA ITEM DEPARTMENT HEAD'S SUMMARY FORM

AGENDA DATE: June 22, 2022

CONTACT PERSON(S) NAME AND PHONE NUMBER: Melissa Chaidez, 915.212.1633

Elizabeth Triggs, 915.212.1619

DISTRICT(S) AFFECTED: 4

STRATEGIC GOAL: Goal 1: Create an Environment Conducive to Strong, Sustainable Economic

Development

SUBGOAL: 1.1 Stabilize and expand El Paso's tax base.

SUBJECT:

APPROVE a resolution / ordinance / lease to do what? OR AUTHORIZE the City Manager to do what? Be descriptive of what we want Council to approve. Include \$ amount if applicable.

A Resolution that the City Council approves the recommendation of the Board of Directors of the City of El Paso Municipal Management District No. 1 that the following persons be named directors of the District for four-year terms expiring in June 2026:

- James Feagin
- Brent D. Harris
- Scott Weaver

BACKGROUND / DISCUSSION:

Discussion of the what, why, where, when, and how to enable Council to have reasonably complete description of the contemplated action. This should include attachment of bid tabulation, or ordinance or resolution if appropriate. What are the benefits to the City of this action? What are the citizen concerns?

The City created the El Paso Municipal Management District No.1 (MMD) within the TIRZ 13 boundary to promote, develop, encourage, and maintain employment, commerce and economic development in the district. The district is governed by a board of five directors who serve staggered terms of four years with two or three directors' terms expiring June 1 of each even-numbered year. The City Council shall appoint directors from persons recommended by the MMD Board.

The MMD Board of Directors met on January 11, 2022 in regular session, open to the public, to request a resolution approving the reappointment of James Feagin, Brett D. Harris, and Scott Weaver, all of which meet the qualification requirements as provided in Chapter 375 of the Local Government Code and Chapter 3972 of the Texas Special District Local Laws Code. Specifically, the Board of Directors of the MMD shall recommend persons to serve on the MMD Board to the City Council of the City of El Paso. All nominees are qualified to serve on the Board in accordance with the qualifications established by Chapter 3972 as follows: are (1) a resident of the city who is also a registered voter of the city; (2) an owner of property in the district; (3) an owner of stock or a partnership or membership interest, whether beneficial or otherwise, of a corporate partnership, limited liability company, or other entity owner of a direct or indirect interest in property in the district; (4) an owner of a beneficial interest in a trust, or a trustee in a trust, that directly or indirectly owns property in the district; or (5) an agent, employee, or tenant of a person described by (2), (3), or (4).

PRIOR COUNCIL ACTION:

Has the Council previously considered this item or a closely related one?

- January 8, 2019- City Council approved the creation of the El Paso Municipal District No. 1, which
 was then created and made effective January 1, 2020 by Texas House Bill No. 4730 during the 86th
 Session of the Texas Legislature
- March 17, 2020 City Council consented to the creation of El Paso Municipal District No. 1 and appointed five persons to serve as initial directors, including: William Kell, Ryan Burkhardt, James Feagin, Brent D. Harris, and Scott Weaver.

AMOUNT AND SOURCE OF FUNDING:

How will this item be funded? Has the item been budgeted? If so, identify funding source by account numbers and description of account. Does it require a budget transfer?

N/A

HAVE ALL AFFECTED DEPARTMENTS BEEN NOTIFIED? X YES NO

PRIMARY DEPARTMENT: Economic & International Development

SECONDARY DEPARTMENT: N/A

DEPARTMENT HEAD:

(If Department Head Summary Form is initiated by Purchasing, client department should sign also)

RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, Texas House Bill No. 4730, 86th Session of the Texas Legislature, Regular Session, created the City of El Paso Municipal Management District No. 1 ("MMD1") effective January 1, 2020; and

WHEREAS, during the March 17th, 2020 regular council meeting, the City Council of the City of El Paso consented to the creation of the MMD1 located within the boundaries of the City of El Paso, Texas.; and

WHEREAS, the City Council of the City of El Paso, Texas appointed five persons to serve as initial directors for MMD1: and

WHEREAS, Section 375.064 of the Texas Local Government Code and Section 3972.0203 of Texas Special District Local Laws Code provide that each succeeding Board of Directors of the MMD1 ("Board") shall recommend, to the City Council of the City of El Paso, persons to serve on the Board; and

WHEREAS, during the January 11th, 2022 meeting the Board approved recommending James Feagin, Brent D. Harris, and Scott Weaver be reappointed to the Board.

NOW THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE CITY COUNCIL OF THE CITY OF EL PASO, TEXAS:

That the City Council of the City of El Paso hereby appoints the following persons to serve as Directors on the Board for the City of El Paso Municipal Management District No. 1, for four-year terms expiring in June 2026:

- James Feagin
- Brent D. Harris
- Scott Weaver

APPROVED this	day of	, 20
		CITY OF EL PASO
		Oscar Leeser Mayor
ATTEST:		
Laura D. Prine City Clerk		_
APPROVED AS TO FORM:		APPROVED AS TO CONTENT:
5.1	J'h	Shoo
Juan S. Gonzalez	V	Elizabeth Triggs, Director

Economic & International Development

1

Sr. Assistant City Attorney