CITY OF EL PASO, TEXAS AGENDA ITEM DEPARTMENT HEAD'S SUMMARY FORM

DEPARTMENT: CITY CLERK'S OFFICE

AGENDA DATE: November 13, 2024

CONTACT PERSON NAME AND PHONE NUMBER: LAURA D. PRINE, (915) 212-1212

DISTRICT(S) AFFECTED: All Districts

STRATEGIC GOAL: GOAL 6 SET THE STANDARD FOR SOUND GOVERNANCE AND FISCAL MANAGEMENT

SUBGOAL: 6.8 Support transparent and inclusive government.

SUBJECT:

Discussion and action to approve a Resolution to canvass the votes cast in the November 5, 2024 City of El Paso General and Special Elections and declaring the results.

BACKGROUND / DISCUSSION:

A General Election for the expired terms of the Mayor, Representatives for Districts 2, 3, 4, and 7, and for the Judges for Municipal Court Nos. 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, and Municipal Court of Appeals, and a Special Election for the vacancies of Representatives for Districts 1 and 5, were held on November 5, 2024 - approved by City Council on July 30, 2024 and August 19, 2024.

PRIOR COUNCIL ACTION:

Canvassing of the November 8, 2022 General Election results was conducted on November 16, 2022, and the canvassing of the December 9, 2023 Special Election was conducted on December 18, 2023.

AMOUNT AND SOURCE OF FUNDING:

N/A

DEPARTMENT HEAD:

Laura D. Prine

(If Department Head Summary Form is initiated by Purchasing, client department should sign also)

RESOLUTION CANVASSING RETURNS OF THE ELECTIONS FOR THE 2024 GENERAL AND SPECIAL ELECTIONS FOR MAYOR, DISTRICTS 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 AND 7; MUNICIPAL COURT JUDGES COURT NOS. 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, AND THE JUDGE OF THE MUNICIPAL COURT OF APPEALS

WHEREAS, the City Council of the City of El Paso ordered a general and special elections to be held in said City on November 5, 2024, for the purposes of filling the expired terms in the office of the Mayor, four District Representatives from Single-Member District Nos. 2, 3, 4, and 7, and the Judges for the Municipal Courts Nos. 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, and the Judge of the Municipal Court of Appeals and the vacancies in the office of District Representatives from Single-Member District Nos. 1 and 5 for the terms as established by and in accordance with the Charter of the City of El Paso and the laws of the State of Texas;

and,

WHEREAS, the elections officers who held said general and special elections have duly made returns of the results thereof, and said returns have been duly delivered to said City Council.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE CITY COUNCIL OF THE CITY OF EL PASO:

1. That the City Council officially finds and determines that said general and special elections were duly given, that proper notice of said general and special elections were duly given, that proper elections officers were duly appointed prior to said general and special elections, that said general and special elections were duly held, that due returns of the results of said general and special elections have been duly made and delivered, that the elections returns have properly been made out and fully certified by the officers of said general and special elections in the different voting precincts of the City, and that the City Council had duly canvassed said returns, all in accordance with law and the resolution and thereto calling said general and special elections.

2. That the City Council officially finds and determines that the following votes were cast at said general and special elections for the following officers by the resident, qualified electors of said City, who voted at the general and special elections:

MAYORSteven B. Winters15,843Renard U. Johnson59,698Cassandra Hernandez19,025

Elizabeth Cordova	10,773
Isabel Salcido	13,631
Brian Kennedy	44,516
Marco Antonio Contreras	11,925
Ben Mendoza	8,462
DISTRICT REPRESENTATIVE NO. 1	
Sam Armijo	4,158
Tom Handy	5,878
Alejandra "Ale" Chávez	10,605
Monica Reyes	7,729
DISTRICT REPRESENTATIVE NO. 2	
Josh Acevedo	10,791
Isabel Ceballos Otten	6,792
DISTRICT REPRESENTATIVE NO. 3	
Deanna Maldonado-Rocha	4,820
Jose Rodriguez	5,862
Fabiola H. Arellano	4,064
Kenneth Bell	4,406
Jesse Romero	2,566
DISTRICT REPRESENTATIVE NO. 4	
Joe "Chief" Molinar	8,123
Cynthia Boyar Trejo	5,939
Dorothy "Sissy" M. Byrd	3,200
Wesley Lawrence	3,900
DISTRICT REPRESENTATIVE NO. 5	
Amanda Cunningham	4,531
Ivan Niño	7,000
Tamara Lantigua Davis	1,569
Felix J. Muñoz	3,583
Sean "Kowalski" Orr	1,209
DISTRICT REPRESENTATIVE NO. 7	
Alan Serna	3,350
Chris Hernandez	4,669
Fabiola Campos Lopez	4,482

HiQ24-3887|Trans#596060|City Clerks Resolution Canvassing the 2024Elections Results RTA

Lily Limón	8,752
JUDGE, MUNICIPAL COURT NO. 1 Michelle Morales	132,934
JUDGE, MUNICIPAL COURT NO. 2 Kristin Romero	131,411
JUDGE, MUNICIPAL COURT NO. 3 David A. Bonilla	132,166
<u>JUDGE, MUNICIPAL COURT NO. 4</u> Felix Castañon	33,944
Samuel Flores Lauren Ferris	64,649 53,264
JUDGE, MUNICIPAL COURT NO. 5 Mike Herrera	96 027
Daniel "Danny" Robledo	<u>86,037</u> 67,369
JUDGE, MUNICIPAL COURT OF APPEALS Maria B. Ramirez	99,130
Luis Yanez	52,493

3. That in the case of the following offices of Mayor and Representatives for District Nos. 1, 3, 4, 5, and 7, and the Judge for Municipal Court No. 4, no person received more than a 50% majority of all votes cast for candidates for such offices, and accordingly no one for these offices is declared elected and a runoff election is to be called by the City Council in accordance with the Texas Election Code; and that the number of votes cast for each person who was a candidate for such offices, according to the returns, is shown in paragraph 2 hereof:

4. That in the case of the following offices, the following persons who received more than a 50% majority of the votes cast for candidates for such offices are hereby declared elected to such offices for the ensuing terms, or until the elections and qualification of their successors, subject to the proper issuance of certificates of elections by the presiding officer, and that the number of votes cast for each person who was a candidate for such offices, according to the returns, is shown in paragraph 2 hereof:

DISTRICT REPRESENTATIVE NO. 2

Josh Acevedo

JUDGE, MUNICIPAL COURT NO. 1 Michelle Morales

JUDGE, MUNICIPAL COURT NO. 2 Kristin Romero

JUDGE, MUNICIPAL COURT NO. 3 David A. Bonilla

JUDGE, MUNICIPAL COURT NO. 5 Mike Herrera

JUDGE, MUNICIPAL COURT OF APPEALS Maria B. Ramirez

5. That on file in the City Clerk's Office and made a part hereof by reference are copies of the mechanical precinct tabulations of the votes cast at the November 5, 2024 Elections to elect the Mayor, Representatives for Districts 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, and 7, and five Municipal Court Judges Court Nos. 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 and the Judge for the Municipal Court of Appeals showing the number of votes cast in each precinct for each candidate.

6. That this Resolution is adopted subject to the right of any candidate to contest such elections in any way provided by law.

7. That this Resolution were acted upon in accordance with the law by the presiding officer and the City Council and were deemed by said City Council that upon passage of the Resolution, it shall take effect immediately.

8. This Resolution shall be spread upon the minutes of the City Council, and the City Clerk shall record the amendments so adopted in the separate book kept in her office for such purpose.

Signatures appear on the following page

ADOPTED this _____ day of November, 2024.

THE CITY OF EL PASO

Oscar Leeser Mayor

ATTEST:

APPROVED AS TO FORM:

Laura D. Prine City Clerk Russell T. Abeln Senior Assistant City Attorney