

MASS TRANSIT DEPARTMENT BOARD MINUTES CITY COUNCIL CHAMBERS March 4, 2025

A meeting of the Mass Transit Department Board was called to order at 10:05 a.m. Board Chair Renard Johnson was present and presiding and the following Board Members answered roll call: Alejandra Chávez, Josh Acevedo, Cynthia Boyar Trejo, Ivan Niño, Art Fierro, Lily Limón, and Chris Canales. Late Arrival: Deanna Maldonado-Rocha at 10:06 a.m.

NOTICE TO THE PUBLIC:

Motion made by Board Member Limón, seconded by Board Member Chávez, and unanimously carried to **APPROVE** all matters listed under the Consent Agenda unless otherwise noted. (Items approved, postponed, or deleted pursuant to the vote on the Consent Agenda will be shown with an asterisk {*}.)

AYES: Board Chair Johnson and Board Members Chávez, Acevedo, Maldonado-Rocha, Boyar Trejo, Niño,

Fierro, Limón, and Canales

NAYS: None

CONSENT AGENDA – APPROVAL OF MINUTES:

GOAL 6: Set the Standard for Sound Governance and Fiscal Management

1. *Motion made, seconded, and unanimously carried to **APPROVE** the minutes of the Regular Mass Transit Department Board meeting of February 4, 2025 and the Special Mass Transit Department Board meeting of February 25, 2025.

CONSENT AGENDA – REQUEST TO EXCUSE ABSENT MASS TRANSIT BOARD MEMBERS:

GOAL 6: Set the Standard for Sound Governance and Fiscal Management

2. NO ACTION was taken on this item.

REGULAR AGENDA – OTHER BIDS, CONTRACTS, PROCUREMENTS:

GOAL 7: Enhance and Sustain El Paso's Infrastructure Network

3. Motion made by Board Member Canales, seconded by Board Member Boyar Trejo, and unanimously carried to AWARD Solicitation 2024-0514 Sun Metro Electric Paratransit Vehicle Charging Stations to AAA General Contractors, LLC for a total estimated award of 2,000,000.00. This project will consist of the reconfiguration of the Sun Metro LIFT Facility parking lot at 5081 Fred Wilson Avenue, El Paso, TX, to accommodate 25 dual Level 2 Electric Vehicle chargers and 50 Electric Vehicles, including trench excavation, electrical and communication upgrades, pavement repair, restriping, and the installation of bollards, panelboards, transformers, and IT infrastructure.

Department: Capital Improvement

Award to: AAA General Contractors, LLC

City & State: El Paso, TX

Item(s):

Contract Term: 204 Consecutive Calendar Days

Base Bid I: \$2,000,000.00

Total Estimated Award: \$2,000,000.00

Account(s): 560–3250–60050–580270–P6018–SMFY24CAP

Funding Source(s): Federal Transit Administration.

District(s): 3

This was a Competitive Sealed Proposal Procurement unit price contract.

The Purchasing & Strategic Sourcing Department and Capital Improvement recommend award as indicated to AAA General Contractors, LLC the highest ranked offeror based on the evaluation factors established in the evaluation criteria for this procurement.

It is requested that the City Manager be authorized to establish the funding sources and make any necessary budget transfers and execute any and all documents necessary for execution of this award.

Work under this unit price contract is only an estimated value and will be ordered, performed, invoiced, and paid by measured quantity. The actual cost of this contract may be higher or lower than the total estimated value and will be the sum total of unit prices at the end of the contract term.

As a part of this award, upon the review of the City Attorney, the City Engineer may without further authorization from City Council approve contract changes which are necessary for proper execution of the work and carrying out the intent of the project, which are in accordance with applicable law, do not make changes to the prices and are within the appropriate budget.

Board Member Acevedo commented.

Mr. Harold D. Russell, Lead Procurement & Contract Analyst, commented.

AYES: Board Chair Johnson and Board Members Chávez, Acevedo, Maldonado-Rocha, Boyar Trejo, Niño, Fierro, Limón, and Canales

NAYS: None

ADJOURN

Motion made by Board Member Niño, seconded by Board Member Canales, and unanimously carried to **ADJOURN** the meeting at 10:10 a.m.

AYES: Board Chair Johnson and Board Members Chávez, Acevedo, Maldonado-Rocha, Boyar Trejo, Niño, Fierro, Limón, and Canales

NAYS: None

Approved as to content:

Anthony DeKeyzer, Director of Mass Transit