

# MASS TRANSIT DEPARTMENT BOARD MINUTES CITY COUNCIL CHAMBERS December 6, 2022

A meeting of the Mass Transit Department Board was called to order at 10:12 a.m. Chair Oscar Leeser was present and presiding and the following Board Members answered roll call: Board Members Alexsandra Annello, Cassandra Hernandez, Joe Molinar, Isabel Salcido, Claudia Rodriguez, and Henry Rivera. Board Members Peter Svarzbein and Cissy Lizarraga requested to be excused from this meeting.

### **CALL TO THE PUBLIC – PUBLIC COMMENT**

This time is reserved for members of the public who would like to address the Mass Transit Department Board on items that are not on the Mass Transit Department Board Agenda.

The following members of the public commented:

- 1. Josue Rodriguez
- 2. Ruben Montoya
- 3. Ruben Fernandez
- 4. Steven Strumer

# **CONSENT AGENDA**

Motion made by Board Member Rivera, seconded by Board Member Salcido, and unanimously carried to **APPROVE**, **AS AMENDED**, all matters listed under the Consent Agenda unless otherwise noted (Items approved, postponed, or deleted pursuant to the vote on the Consent Agenda will be shown with an asterisk.)

AYES: Board Members Annello, Hernandez, Molinar, Salcido, Rodriguez, and Rivera and Board

Chair Leeser

NAYS: None

ABSENT: Board Members Svarzbein and Lizarraga

### **CONSENT AGENDA – APPROVAL OF MINUTES**

# Goal 6: Set the Standard for Sound Governance and Fiscal Management

 \*Motion made, seconded, and unanimously carried to APPROVE the minutes of the Mass Transit Board Meeting of November 8, 2022.

## CONSENT AGENDA – REQUEST TO EXCUSE ABSENT MASS TRANSIT BOARD MEMBERS

\*Motion made, seconded, and unanimously carried to **EXCUSE** Board Members Peter Svarzbein and Cissy Lizarraga from the December 6, 2022, Mass Transit Department Board Meeting.

# **CONSENT AGENDA - RESOLUTIONS**

## Goal 7: Enhance and Sustain El Paso's Infrastructure Network

### \*RESOLUTION

A resolution authorizing the Chairman of the Mass Transit Board to execute an Agreement between the City of El Paso ("City") acting through Mass Transit Board and the County of El Paso, Texas ("County"), whereby the County and City commit to the local match of the Federal Transit Administration grant award for the Helping Obtain Prosperity for Everyone ("HOPE") Project in the amount of 10% to be divided equally between the County and the City and which amounts to \$9,750.00 each, for use towards the development of the feasibility study and alternatives analysis for a Regional Fares Structure and Payment System that enhances mobility for all.

#### **CONSENT AGENDA – NOTICE FOR NOTATION**

## **Goal 7: Enhance and Sustain El Paso's Infrastructure Network**

- \*Motion made, seconded, and unanimously carried to **NOTE** the Sun Metro's Title VI exemption to provide a major service change analysis for the service modifications implemented on June 26, 2022. After careful review Sun Metro did not meet the service change threshold for a major service change analysis.
- \*Motion made, seconded, and unanimously carried to **NOTE** the Title VI Fare Equity Analysis for Modification in Discounted Fare and Expanded Hours for Streetcar. Under Title VI of the Civil Rights Act of 1964, as amended, as recipients of federal financial assistance Sun Metro Mass Transit Board, without regard to race, color, or national origin, operate and plan for transit services so that:
  - Transit benefits and service are available and provided equitably.
  - Transit services are adequate to provide access and mobility for all.
  - Opportunities to participate in the transit planning and decision-making process are open and accessible.

• Sun Metro takes remedial and corrective actions to prevent discriminatory treatment of any beneficiary.

Board Member Annello commented.

Ms. Ellen Smyth, Chief Transit and Field Operations Officer, commented.

## **ADJOURN**

Motion made by Board Member Rivera, seconded by Board Member Salcido, and unanimously carried to **ADJOURN** the meeting at 10:30 a.m.

AYES: Board Members Annello, Hernandez, Molinar, Salcido, Rodriguez, Rivera, and Board Chair

Leeser

NAYS: None

ABSENT: Board Members Svarzbein and Lizarraga

......

Approved as to content:

Ellen A. Smyth, Chief ransit & Field Operations Officer